My Favorite Smoothie Bowls

In the past few months I started noticing a trend on social media, particularly in the foodie and fitness genre. Some of my favorite accounts on Instagram began posting delicious smoothie bowls, topped with fresh fruits and seeds. Of course my first thought was “That’s nice, but it must take forever. I don’t have time for that.” Usually, it’s that mindset that prevents me from branching out with my diet. There is danger in falling into a diet without much variety.

Anyways, since I had a bunch of free time over break I decided to experiment with smoothie bowls and make a few myself. What I discovered was that they aren’t only super filling, but super easy to make. And although my creations don’t exactly look immaculate- they tasted great.

I recommend a big smoothie bowl after a long run or other workout. It filled me up without the crushing weight of guilt, and it reduced my snacking throughout the day. The best part about it was learning how easy they are to make. If you keep a blender or Nutri-Bullet in your dorm I highly encourage you to try out one of the recipes below (or create one yourself!).

 

Without further ado, here are a few of my favorite smoothie bowls:

 

Mango- Banana 

For my first smoothie bowl attempt I combined a handful of organic frozen mangoes (purchased in the frozen section at Giant Eagle), a whole banana and Siggis vanilla yogurt. It wasn’t too sweet so if you have a sweet tooth I would recommend a few tablespoons of raw honey. Then blend.

I topped it with chia seeds, Kind cinnamon granola, and fresh blackberries. Stir it all together and enjoy!img_7380

 

Chocolate-Banana 

The hardest part about this bowl was taking a picture that looked good enough for Instagram (but really). I blended a whole banana, a cup of unsweetened almond milk, a tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder, a handful of ice and two small scoops of natural peanut butter. It tasted like a chocolate milkshake AND it filled me up for hours. This bowl was pretty sweet so if you’re craving desert for a meal (like me everyday) I HIGHLY recommend.

I topped with Kind chocolate granola and some more chia seeds. Yum yum yum!

img_7385

 

Kale- Banana

Is it obvious I have a thing for bananas? I didn’t take a picture of this smoothie because I didn’t add any toppings (thus it wasn’t very pretty). I used to HATE the taste of kale until recently, when I forced myself to experiment by adding it into my salads and other dishes. Slowly, I fell in love. Not only does kale have dozens of nutritional benefits, but it provides a unique taste that breaks the barriers of typical veggies.

For this smoothie I blended a handful of kale, a whole banana, a handful of ice, a few spoonfuls of Siggis vanilla yogurt and a dash of honey. It wasn’t super sweet BUT it was still tasty and replenished my body after a long run.

If you really aren’t into kale, spinach works as a substitute. But I encourage you to try it with the kale regardless- the best way to figure out what works for you is trial and error!

 

 

These are just a few of my winter break creations, and I’m sure there will be many more in the future.

I’ve got a few ideas for my next post but I won’t spill the beans just yet. Thanks for reading, I’ll be back again soon.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

