Welcome!

After a long and challenging first semester of college I am happy to finally be on track and launching my blog! I have learned so much about myself and my health these past few months that I CANNOT wait to share. I hope to focus my posts around ways to stay healthy in college, both physically and mentally.

I am (obviously) a freshman, studying journalism, with a minor in nutrition. I first became interested in fitness and health during my high school years when I ran cross country and track. When I was in season I loved the way I felt- strong, healthy, and confident. However, I never focused much on what I ate. I seemed to always maintain the same skinny figure and that was enough for me.

Over the summer I began struggling with some personal relationships and I neglected to take good care of myself. My eating habits were unhealthy and I wasn’t pushing my workouts as hard as I could. I always felt distracted by outside problems and I had trouble living in the moment. If I wasn’t panicking about some past problem, I was stressing about the future.

Then I went off to college and I began to change my habits drastically. Suddenly I was faced with more responsibilities than ever before, and I was forced to focus on the task at hand. This carried over into my fitness life as well. When I was at the gym or on a run, I didn’t want to think about school or boys or friends.

So I didn’t.

Over time, I began to stop worrying about the past and future and I saw tremendous results in all aspects of my life. I pushed myself harder than ever before in the gym, sometimes spending hours a day working towards my goals. I worked hard in school as well and, most importantly, I fueled my body with the right foods. All these positive changes worked in harmony to help me mature and grow in myself.

Of course I am no where near perfect and every day I find myself making dumb mistakes. But the wonderful part about fitness and health is that there is no “perfect” diet or routine. Everyone is unique, and to find personal balance mistakes must be made.

I will share my mistakes and successes on this blog in hopes that other people can learn from them. Most days I’ll be posting different recipes, work outs and tricks that I have discovered or developed. But I will also be sure to provide entertaining and enriching stories of my fitness journey.

I look forward to connecting with people through this blog, and I hope it inspires at least one person to make a positive change in their life.

I will close with one of my favorite quotes (also be on the lookout for my next post about some of my favorite smoothie bowls).

“Complaining won’t get you anywhere in life. Keep this energy and use it to accomplish your goals.”

 

Leave a Reply

